Intercultural Organizations (ICOs)

ICO's group shot


About ICOs

Intercultural Organizations (ICOs) is an umbrella for several groups that exist to support, educate and celebrate different cultures and perspectives among students. The purpose of ICOs is two-fold: 1). to provide a space for students of similar background to come together for support and fellowship and; 2)  to give all students the opportunity to build new friendships and to learn about and value different cultures, histories and perspectives of others.

Any registered Westmont student may apply to lead, be a member of or participate in programs organized by an ICO.  ICOs are and have always been inclusive, i.e. all students of all backgrounds are welcome to participate. Programs and meetings are framed and guided by the college’s learning standard for diversity and by the mission, vision and goals of Intercultural Programs.

This year, their vision is to focus on the spiritual and church histories and legacies of different cultures.

Leadership:

Business Manager:

Sarah Gowing

sgowing@westmont.edu

 

Asian Student Association (ASA)

President:

 

Vice President:

 

Alice Geng

 

Brady Quon

 

xgeng@westmont.edu

 

bquon@westmont.edu

Black Student Union (BSU)

President:

 

 

Joshua Siley-Waters

 

 

 

 

jsileywaters@westmont.edu

 

 

Hawai'i No Ka 'Oi

President:

 

Vice President:

 

Johanna Ward

 

Tichael Amosa

 

 

joward@westmont.edu

 

tamosa@westmont.edu

Latino Cultural Organization (LCO)

President:

 

Vice President:

 

Christopher Riba

 

Bethany Baca

 

criba@westmont.edu

 

bbaca@westmont.edu

Global & International Student Assoc.

(GISA)

 

President:

 

 

 

Kailie Grinder

 

 

 

 

kgrinder@westmont.edu

 

 

MESA (Mixed Race Student Association)

 

Co-Leaders:

 

Kara Macias

 

Sarah Gowing

 

kmacias@westmont.edu

 

sgowing@westmont.edu

REJ (Racial Equality and Justice)

 

Co-Leaders:

 

Christina Lee

 

Emily Keach

 

Christina Buckley

 

chrlee@westmont.edu

 

ekeach@westmont.edu

 

cbuckley@westmont.edu

 

Contact Information:

Office Hours:
TBD
ICOs Office: Upstairs, Kerr Student Center Lounge

ico@westmont.edu
805-565-7119 - Main Office

ICO Blog:

http://blogs.westmont.edu/intercultural-orgs/

Requirements for Intercultural Organizations

Advisor:
Jason Cha
Director of Intercultural Programs
jacha@westmont.edu

805-565-6132